Skip to content

Organic Avenue Cleanse: Day 1

January 30, 2011

Juice!

The nice thing about cleansing is you know exactly what you’ll be eating for however long you cleanse.  I took out all the bottles after picking them up from the Organic Avenue on Suffolk and placed them on the kitchen counter to admire.  The beautiful, jewel-toned glass bottles filled with nourishing juice… to cleanse is a luxury and a blessing, and with all things in life, its necessary to remind myself of that again and again.  I have done juice cleanses before so I know what I’m doing and I know that I can do it.  In fact on a juice cleanse like this, you drink so much it’s not about hunger.  It’s about overcoming your mind, purifying yourself, being introspective and challenging the habits your used to.  Food is all over this city and usually I’m tempted by every piece of chocolate in every store I walk by.  It’s nice to not even entertain the “should I eat that, just one?” dialogue and know that I’m going to pass on it.  I don’t need anything.  It’s a refreshing way to look at the world, needing nothing from it.  Sri Brahmananda Sarasvati described yoga as the state of being whole and needing nothing.  It’s a practice; feeling content and satisfied with what you have and who you are.  Not looking outside yourself for validation or more, more, more.  It’s so liberating when you realize you don’t need anything, you’re whole and perfect just as you are.  Sweet dreams…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs