Skip to content

Intention Setting for 2011

January 10, 2011
tags:

Frank (the tank) painted by Rita.

On New Years’ Eve I peeled myself away from my friends and took some quiet time to do some reflecting on the year past and intention setting for the year to come.  I was wracking my mind with what I have experienced and learned from 2010 and what I hope to achieve, who I hope to become in 2011.  Here’s what I wrote:

  • Open heart to keep evolving: Study my Self (svadhyaya in Sanskrit) in order to keep growing.
  • Be honest, always and without exception.  Clean up all the little cracks where I allow myself to be untruthful.
  • Be kind towards others: don’t be judgmental.
  • Experience mutual love: cherish and respect each other. Remain grateful, enthusiastic and caring.
  • Follow yamas and niyamas: tighten personal discipline to help focus.
  • Deepen study and dedication to apprenticeship as a way of honoring my teachers.
  • Daily meditation practice.
  • Intention: Evolve and purify my Self.  Create and celebrate happiness for others.

I look back at this torn out sheet of paper a couple of times a week just to stay on track.  Already having problems meditating everyday (Why is this so challenging for me? What am I so afraid of?  Why do I resist this?) but at least I am trying.  Hopefully my list can help you organize your own thoughts for this year.  It’s never a bad idea to sit down, be introspective and set some intentions for the future.  Everything we experience in our lives is first a thought, so start thinking about what you want.

More of Rita's dogs.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Spencer permalink
    January 13, 2011 2:22 am

    Hey
    I’ve been doing some yoga on my own and have fallen in love with it. So I’ve wanted to take some classes but I’m a Christian and many of my friends and family have stated that it would be a bad idea due to the fact that yoga is from Hinduism. Well I guess what I’m saying is that I love your blog and respect you and your opinion quite a bit so I was wondering what you think?
    Peace

  2. January 13, 2011 10:32 am

    hi spencer! thank you so much for the comment. in my opinion, you should definitely keep practicing and take some group classes (then you will really fall in love with yoga even more!). you can use your practice as a way of connecting to your Christianity or you can simply practice to tap into that unchanging, blissful Self inside. it’s all about your intention and what you are looking for with your yoga practice. there are so many yoga students who never even think about the correlation to Hinduism, and use their practices to find some inner peace, mental constancy and a clear vision of who they want to be, so you really don’t need to be hung up or worried about it. keep practicing!!! let me know how it goes…

  3. fedeZ permalink
    January 16, 2011 10:51 am

    I think kyle is the best spencer you should totally follow hed advice. We LOVE kyle.

  4. January 16, 2011 3:13 pm

    Hey Kyle!
    Thanks for sharing your resolutions. Mine were to 1) take myself less seriously, 2) laugh more, 3) extend my comfort zone and get out more often! I’ve gotten BACK into hot yoga and am in love. Just what my muscles were screaming for. Are you familiar with Ray Long’s work on anatomy and yoga? Well he’s just released these outstanding books in December- a 4-book Mat Companion series. You might want to take a look at the supplemental blog and go through the page throughs (www.DailyBandha.com)! The information is fantastic and really enables you to go deeper into your practice.
    Happy New Year fellow yogini!

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs