Skip to content

Seek Safe Haven in Sharon Gannon’s New CD Sharanam

August 23, 2010

Beautiful Sharon in the forrest.

Sharon Gannon, the cofounder of Jivamukti Yoga and my beloved teacher, recently released a new cd that is like a breath of fresh air.  If you have practiced at Jivamukti at all this month, you have probably heard her music.  All of the teachers, her beloved students, dutifully play her songs throughout their incredible classes.  Every time I hear one of her songs while in class, I feel relief.  Sharanam means refuge in Sanskrit and she delivers.  The music is peaceful and devotional.  It feels good to hear her sing blessings while practicing yoga.  This is definitely yoga music to elevate the mood, to lift you out of the mundane, and to remind you of the spirituality that is inherent to the practice.  Check her out on iTunes, or come to class at Jivamukti and listen to her songs while you practice.

The back of her gorgeous cd.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 7:57 pm

    Blessings to you dear Kyle for your very kind and generous words. sending love to you–sharon

    • August 25, 2010 10:45 pm

      As I practice calling our Surya Namaskar A and prepare to apprentice with beloved Rima, I am so humbled by and grateful for your amazing dedication to the teachings. Thank you!

  2. August 24, 2010 10:38 pm

    Kyle,
    I agree, it makes me feel better just hearing Sharon’s voice in class while I’m teaching. It’s so inspiring and I feel like I have a friend with me. Namaste, Carla

  3. Narayani permalink
    August 25, 2010 3:06 pm

    So true, Kyle-ji! Sharon’s class has always been a refuge for me, and this CD plays in my heart like a mantra. It makes me feel so happy…thank you for this lovely spotlight on one of the best new “yoga” music CDs to be produced in ages.

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs