Skip to content

Take a New Class!

March 8, 2010

My roommate sent me this pic of the front of our apt. so I don't forget home.

Yoga is about controlling your mind, and mastering yourself.  Taking a different class, outside your regular routine is an amazing way to challenge yourself and remain pliable, flexible and open in your practice.  Taking a meditative class instead of the usual sweaty flow let’s you tune into your body and practice in a new way.  Challenging yourself to a physical practice when you usual take it slower makes you feel amazing and exhilarated.

I practice Jivamukti yoga the most and am absolutely enamoured with the practice and teachers.  But I love taking classes at other studios, too, because it keeps me open to the many ways yoga can be approached, taught, and practiced. Yesterday I took a community class at Silver Lake Yoga and the change of pace was so nice.  I don’t need to push myself and sweat to have a class that’s beneficial and inspiring.  Quieting down, embracing the silence, and moving slowly felt luxurious and much-needed.

Be bold and unrigid (the sign of true strength).  If your in New York, try taking class at Om, Jivamukti, Yoga to the People, Om Factory, Dharma Mittra or any of the other amazing classes we have in the city.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 9:23 pm

    My fiance and I are kripalu certified instructors. We just took a class at “Yoga Shala” in Ponce, Puerto Rico. Not our normal style-a beautiful slow flow practice however. I generally save your posts on my phone like a good book and wait until I have a moment to read and really embrace your words. That being said, I read this post today…after our class. The class was not only a slow flow but it was in Spanish. The incredible instructor Melissa, mentioned before class how she wanted to take it slow and dedicate the practice to feeling every muscle in the body and breathe fully with our yogic breath. As the universe aligns itself, I read this post and it was synonomis to my practice. Beautiful. Thank you! *AUM*

    • March 9, 2010 12:57 am

      Oh my god!! Thank you so much. I can’t tell you how much this means to me and how sweet your words are to my ears!! Namaste.

  2. Harper permalink
    March 11, 2010 4:38 pm

    kyle you are a yoga goddess. p.s. i know where this was taken.

  3. Tess permalink
    March 11, 2010 5:48 pm

    This has been on my mind lately too! I took an open class at OM when I was in New York and now that I am back in New Orleans I have been taking Anusara classes… it is so good to challenge yourself to step outside your comfort zone (and a great way to get ideas to inspire your own teaching). Yay for new experiences.

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs