Skip to content

3-Day Juice Fast

January 7, 2010

Untitled photograph by my friend Jack Siegel.

People in the yoga community are into fasting.  There is something about cleaning out your insides and challenging yourself to go without food that is actually appealing to people like me.  When I got back from beautiful, sunny, gorgeous Los Angeles this week, my roommates wanted to do a small-little-start-the-New-Year-right-juice-cleanse.  As the resident yogi, I was in charge of deciding what we would drink and trying to keep our morale high.  Basically, we just drank (and are continuing to drink) as much juice as possible, all fresh, and from a wide variety of fruits and vegetables.  We drank a lot of coconut water (if your not into coconut water yet, get into it) and also water with lemon in it (which has an alkalizing effect of the body).

Today is day 3, and I have to say, I feel amazing.  Unlike the insane challenges and mental and physical hardship I experienced when I did the Master Cleanse (read about days 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5), this cleanse has been a breeze.  If you want your practice to improve, a cleanse will take you there.  Without food in the stomach requiring my body’s attention to digest and physically blocking me from going deeper into poses, I have found that I can get into more poses then usual.  I can bind in poses where I couldn’t before and I my body feels smooth during the transitions between poses.

As for the mental and spiritual aspects of doing this cleanse, it really hasn’t brought up too much for me but it has given me the time, space and quietness to be introspective.  I feel calm and steady but very energized and focused.  For me, this cleanse is actually making me feel confident, capable and in control (controlling my own body feels powerful).  I really haven’t felt hungry at all, except for at about 1pm on day one.  I have been drinking enough juice that I feel satiated and nourished.  I haven’t experienced any headaches and have been able to work and maintain my schedule without any problems.  I feel aware of the inner workings of my body and mind and very connected to my body.  Doing a cleanse allows you to create space within yourself in the same way that meditating does.  It’s like if you force your body to slow down on the intake, filtering visually, mentally, or food-wise and then space is created.  This open space gives you the opportunity to think about your life, which I had avoided doing this New Years.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Harper permalink
    January 7, 2010 3:59 pm

    i’m so glad i could inspire you.

  2. Andrew permalink
    January 11, 2010 4:53 pm

    you’re a real nerdbomber Ms. Miller

Trackbacks

  1. Eating and Yoga « Kyle Miller Yoga
  2. Join Me for a Summer Juice Cleanse! « Kyle Miller Yoga

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs