Skip to content

Bhagavan Das!!!

November 4, 2009
014.JPG

Bhagavan Das!!

I had the great pleasure of seeing Bhagavan Das at Jivamukti the day before Halloween.  I was totally looking forward to this and was very excited because I have been listening to his music for a while now. He is one of the most popular and revered kirtan wallas in the world.  He is the picture of a devoted and spiritual master.  Long blond dreads intertwined with ribbon hang down his back and his large white beard seems to be growing slightly out of control.  He is so in the spiritual world, that little else seems to matter to him.

The room was set up with speakers and candles and the stage was definitely set for his performance. Expectant and excited faces sat on blankets arranged in a semi circle around the make-shift stage.  And then Bhagvan Das entered.  He sat down, said some prayers in sanskrit, and blew into a conch shell 3 times making a loud, shrill noise.  Then he began singing and I couldn’t believe how clear and beautiful his voice was, truly a sound from God.  He sang, and then everyone sang and the room came together in that amazing way that only the vibration of music can create.

Going to events like these, surrounding myself with spiritual masters and those who inspire me, and becoming part of satsang keep me motivated to stay on the path of yoga.  When I am around my teachers and fellow students, in asana class, listening or singing along with sanskrit, it reinforces the journey I am taking and the values I believe in.  Without the community of yoga around me, I don’t know if I would be able to keep moving forward on this path.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2009 8:57 am

    That sounds so cool! I haven’t heard Bhagavan Das’ latest album, but I’m sure it’s awesome. BTW, I think your blog is one of my favorites 🙂 Thanks for sharing your experiences.

    • November 7, 2009 12:35 pm

      Thank you so much! That is so sweet… I’m glad you like my stories… means a lot to me.

Trackbacks

  1. Yoga Competition « Kyle Miller Yoga

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs