Skip to content

Clean From the Inside Out

October 28, 2009

Clean-CoveI am reading this book called Clean by Dr. Alejandro Junger, about his personal and professional journey to create the Clean program.  I found out about this book from reading Gwyneth Paltrow’s newsletter, Goop, and I have to say I think she is amazing.  Her writing on the Clean Program made me want to check it out.  So far in the book Dr. Junger has explained about the problems that face our health given the way we eat and live, the toxicity of modern life and the insane importance of our digestive system to our overall health.  After graduating from NYU medical school and specializing in cardiology, Dr. Junger travelled to India and became exposed to the medical philosophies of the East.  He learned about the connection between mind and body that is stressed in these systems.

When he returned to New York and began his practice, he was affected by those problems that seem to be affecting everyone; tiredness, inability to sleep well, poor digestion, bloating and puffiness, and depression.  In the attempt to restore his own health, he looked at the problem from all angles and with the added perspective of the Eastern philosophies he had been exposed to.  What he came up with is that what we eat is of prime importance to our health and that you cannot separate the body and mind when addressing a person’s health.  He discovered that the magical, efficient and amazing human body, which performs every task we need, has become blocked and stagnant and our bodies own ability to detox has been hindered by the overload, and it is this build up of toxicity which makes us feel so BLAH.

This is such a great book.  His writing is straight-forward and honest and very approachable.  To read the interview Gwyneth did with him, click here.  I’ll keep you posted as I continue to read.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrew permalink
    January 21, 2010 2:25 pm

    I stumbled onto this ably written (and I must say that it is) passage at a most felicitous moment in my pooping travails. You see, recently I became aware of a commonly held belief that wiping front to back is the preferable method. Since my adjustment, I have noticed a general sluggishness in my digestion and a poorer quality of meadow muffins when I am able to disembogue. I must thank Dr. Junger, Gwyneth Paltrow and you, Kyle Miller for aiding me in this great and desperate time
    –AMG

  2. February 8, 2010 11:57 pm

    Oh GAWD, andy.

Trackbacks

  1. One Tiny Thing You Can Do to Feel Better « Kyle Miller Yoga

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs