Skip to content

Yoga in Paris!

October 2, 2009

samalogobigI have been in Paris for about 24 hours and I have already been to a yoga class.  It was such a wonderful experience. I found the class through, of all people, David Lebovitz, the American living in Paris who is a master ice cream maker, cookbook author, and liver of the sweet life.  I expected to refer to him for where to get the best chocolate but was pleasantly surprised to find yoga recommendations on his beautiful site.

I went to Samasthiti Studio in the 4th, near the Bastille on Rue de Cerisaie.  The class was Vinyasa Creatif, and the teacher led us through a beautifully paced flow for close to 2 hours.  The class was calming, soothing, and very peaceful.  She instructed our breath and encouraged us.  It was an interesting experience for me because I could not understand anything the teacher was saying except for the Sanskrit asana names.  From her physical demonstrations though, and my own intuition, I felt that I could understand most of what she was saying and follow along without a problem.  I wasn’t even nervous before the class because I had faith in the universality of yoga.  I knew that the teacher and fellow students would be welcoming, because that’s how yogis are.  I knew that I would be able to follow the class because the vinyasa and the poses are the same no matter where you are or what language you speak.  Looking forward to going back and taking more classes there and also trying out other studios, as well.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 3:50 pm

    comehomecomehomecomehomecomehomecomehomecomehome. thanks.

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs