Skip to content

Even Yoga Teachers Get Nervous Before a New Class

September 4, 2009
Doesn't that look like it feels good?

Doesn't that look like it feels good?

Inspired by my creative teachers (thank you Sandhi) and this New York Times article, I went to an Anti-Gravity class at Om Factory yesterday and was so nervous before class I felt like a highschooler on their first day at a new campus.  Usually, going to class is where I feel the most confident.  I am comfortable at the studios I go to a lot and even at ones I don’t regularly attend because I know that I have put in the time and effort to be able to handle any type of class.  If I am bringing a friend with me, I try to radiate even more calmness so that my friend feels comfortable and taken care of when they practice next to me.  But this anti-gravity class made me feel so anxious.  I was scared that I wouldn’t be able to do it and scared of embarrassing myself.  But guess what?  I took class and had an amazing time.  I have to remember to not let being scared of something prevent me from doing it!  Now if only I could apply this to my life outside of my practice…

Anti Gravity yoga, by the way is an amazing workout and a lot of fun.  From the website:

Utilize the agility you have gained from yoga to learn to fly in this fun and challenging class! Learn to enjoy a new relationship to gravity through swinging, flipping, inverting (yes lots of time upside down), balancing and developing new proprioceptive skills.

AntiGravity Yoga is an innovative approach to yoga designed to increase one’s overall health and physical agility while having fun and creating beauty. The technique was created by AntiGravity, an acrobatic performance company whose daily workout utilizes the AntiGravity Hammock. Made of supportive silk fabric, the AnitGravity Hammocks are securely suspended from the ceiling and function to allow the practitioner to hold challenging poses longer, gain better kinesthetic awareness, build cardiovascular and muscular strength, become more flexible, increase joint mobility, and decompress the vertebrae of the spine without strain.

By adding additional techniques from dance, pilates and calisthenics, AntiGravity Yoga is a complete workout that realigns you by reversing your everyday relationship with the compression of gravity. AntiGravity Yoga takes into consideration both meanings of the word — working to manipulate physics while staying lighthearted.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs