Skip to content

What is all this Stuff?

August 12, 2009
Reverse warrior.

Reverse warrior.

Humbleness means simplicity of character and lifestyle.  The soul needs no lavish accessories, food or praises, and when you seek them they pull you away from your true identity.”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     –Hatha Yoga Pradipika

When I left India, I remember thinking that I wished I had no possessions, just 2 sets of yoga clothes and a bowl to eat from.  Escaping all of my material possessions while I was there showed me how liberating it is to not be bogged down with lots of stuff.  It makes me think of the line from Fight Club where Brad Pitt says something along the lines of your possessions begin to own you at a certain point.  I am grateful for everything I have, but I definitely sometimes feel weighed down by the responsibility of taking care of everything.  All of it is just stuff, and it can be enchanting and exciting, but ultimately it’s distracting and not fulfilling for me.  I love this quote from the Hatha Yoga Pradipika because it so simply states why it important to be simple.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Harper permalink
    August 13, 2009 4:00 pm

    You are so pretty.

  2. Jon Hill permalink
    August 18, 2009 10:20 pm

    Rule #76: No excuses. Play like a champion!- Wedding Crashers

    You look hott kyle- Dr. Strangelove

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs