Skip to content

“Yoga Music” Playlist

June 23, 2009
peace sign graffiti in Prague.

peace sign graffiti in Prague.

This is my ultimate self-practice yoga mix rt. now… filled with kirtan, energetic, modern Indian music, and tons of mantra repetition.  It’s the music I’ve been exposed to from practicing yoga, by all of my wonderful teachers.  I have to say that I haven’t yet played this music while I’m teaching, which is clearly indicative of my confidence.  I feel like my students will enjoy the playlists I make for them with the music they are familiar with more than this funky, “yoga” music.  I’ve been too scared to challenge them in this way and too afraid it will make the class less enjoyable for them.  But as I’m coming to love this kind of music more and more, I think it’s time to get over this fear and start exposing my students to this music during our sessions.

Namah Shivaya by Krishna Das is the first kirtan song I fell in love with so it’s a good place to start for all you kirtan virgins.  You will love it!!  This mix also has Maneesh De Moor, Lokah, Deva Premal, and Donna De Lory. If you’ve ever loved a song that you’ve heard in a yoga class but had no idea what it was, hopefully it’s on this playlist.  Check it out!!

“yoga music” playlist

PEACE!!!!!!

PEACE!!!!!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rima permalink
    June 29, 2009 1:40 pm

    I wanna hear that japa-like playlist Kyle…

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs