Skip to content

Altars in New York City

June 4, 2009

I love altars.  They are a beautiful, physical representation of devotion.  They give us a place to kneel before, quiet our minds, and feel grateful.  They let us worship before whatever we want.  Enjoy these altars from around the city…

Altar in Jivamukti's Krishna room... window looking out over Broadway.

Altar in Jivamukti's Krishna room... window looking out over Broadway. Pictures of saints and enlightened beings surround the altar, running all the way up to the ceiling.

Altar in Jivamukti's Goddess room.

Altar in Jivamukti's Goddess room.

Altar outside someone;s apartment in my building... they are constantly adding fruit, incense and candies!!

Altar outside someone's apartment in my building... they are constantly adding fruit, incense and candies!!

My altar, on my dresser, filled with things I've collected from all over the world.

My altar, on my dresser, filled with things I've collected from all over the world.

Altar for Sri K Pattahbi Jois at Jivamukti.

Altar for Sri K. Pattahbi Jois at Jivamukti, being prayed before by a beautiful devotee with a harmonium.

Smiling Buddha at the American Society of Buddhist Studies.

Smiling Buddha at the American Society of Buddhist Studies, rt. next door to my apartment.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Harper Dill permalink
    June 9, 2009 8:52 pm

    ive learned a lot right now. about myself, about yoga and about life. thanks for turning the page for me. hope to meet some day!

Trackbacks

  1. Dhyana: Meditation « Kyle Miller Yoga
  2. Class With David Life « Kyle Miller Yoga

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs