Skip to content

Master Cleanse: Conclusion

May 30, 2009
upward facing dog, urdvah muka swanasana, in the fresh air.upward facing dog, urdhva mukha svanasana, in the fresh air.

                                                                                                                                                                                                         I have to say I feel amazing!!!  I am shocked at this because of how awful I felt for the 2nd and 3rd day but I truly feel light, clear and uplifted!  My skin is clear and my body is open and strong.  My asana practice has definitely improved and I’m noticing the lightness in the transitions between poses and the poses themselves.  Jumping forward from down dog to forward fold, I feel light on my feet and steady when the weight is in my hands.  I am more flexible in forward bends because I am able to draw the entire front of my torso down onto my legs.  My heart is open for back-bending and my twisting is deeper then ever before.  I can feel that the space the fast has created within me has allowed my to go deeper within my practice.  It has truly given me a sense of calm and a quietness of mind I have rarely experienced before.

 For me, this confirms that to go deeper with ourselves and to make progress on this path of yoga, you have to be willing to go deep inside and break down.  We have to be willing to challenge ourselves, whether it be through a strong physical practice whenever you can squeeze it in or a regular, daily practice, for the sake of breaking apart and breaking open who we think we are.  I definitely feel more aware of my body and of the subtle connection between my body, mind and breath.  I am grateful for this feeling of union which I have experienced from this fast and for the this feeling of lightness within my body that is so uplifting.  

I can see that my yoga practice loves raw food (by the way, I’ve been eating a ton of fresh, raw fruit and veg today… watermelon, blueberries, a mango and cucumber and some fresh juice!) and definitely want to incorporate eating more raw fruits and vegetables into my diet now that my system is so clean.  Summer is the perfect time for this!!  I bought a mango on the street and slurped it down and it was such a delicious, simple, and pleasurable experience.  Eating fresh health food definitely connects you to the source and makes you grateful for Mother Nature’s bounty.

Thank you to everyone for all the love and support. An outpouring of love to everyone…

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs