Skip to content

Just a Little Note…

May 19, 2009
Dalai6

His Holiness, the Dalai Lama, the ultimate practitioner of ahimsa.

I found this quote by the Dalai Lama and I think it really illustrates what I was trying to say about ahimsa. Breaking down our perceived sense of separateness in the world is essential in developing compassion and peace towards others.  It comes from his book Dzogchen: Heart Essence of the Great Perfection.  

“True world peace can only be achieved through peace of mind.  And peace of mind springs from a genuine realization that all human beings are brothers and sisters.  Different ideologies and different political or economic systems are only secondary; the most important point is that we are all the same human beings, living on one small planet.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jon Hill permalink
    May 21, 2009 12:30 pm

    The Dalai Lama, Kyle, is correct in that you and I are one in the same. When I woke up this morning I said to myself “Where’s Kyle at this very moment? The sun is shining…weather is….sweet.” Then I realized that you are there, and I am here. Two halves of one soul. Some would say we are like two peas in a pot. Others would say we have a fierce love for each other that sometimes boils over into obsession, compulsion, and delirium. In response to all these assumptions, I’m bedazzled with your nonchalant responses of “ohhhh…thats chill…” or “coooooool” Your breathtaking, truly.

    I must leave my home now and roam the streets of Bagdad (Downtown LA). Call me. Who loves you????????? I do…

    -Strangelove, M.D.

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs