Skip to content

Yoga Food!

April 7, 2009
tags: ,
  ingredientsingredients

I am obsessed with food!  My love of the food blogs is what made me want to start this site.  So here is my first attempt at a food blog entry.  It’s for a salad I CANNOT get enough of lately.  I crave it while I’m in class and run home to prepare it for dinner.  It’s inspired by the spicy tempeh salad served at the JivamukTea Cafe (my absolute favorite place to get lunch in the city… the most delicious vegan food!).  My version has cheese, so it isn’t vegan but you could definitely omit.  It’s also ripe for any other changes that suit your palate.  I’ve made it with a variety of different cheeses, seasoned the tempeh with different fresh herbs and spices, and added avocado, which I pretty much put on everything.

Rosemary Tempeh Salad

  • 1/2 package of tempeh
  • 2 heads of romaine hearts
  • 2 oz. of sharp white cheddar 
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 fresh sprigs of rosemary
  • 1/2 teaspoon red chili flakes
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 glugs olive oil 

Begin by heating the olive oil in a pan over medium heat.  Chop the tempeh into 1/2 inch cubes and add to the hot oil.  Season with salt.  Rough chop the rosemary and add to the pan, along with the chili flakes.  Stir the pan often, cooking 5-7 minutes until the tempeh begins to get golden and egdes are a little crunchy.  While the tempeh is cooking, get out 2 plates and and begin to pull the leaves off each romaine head, filling each plate.  Slice the leaves, creating a beautiful bed of lettuce on each plate.  If you have a vegetable peeler (I don’t), use it to shave the cheddar over each bed of lettuce.  Then cut the lemon in half and squeeze the juice of one half lemon over each bed of lettuce.  Finally, pour the hot tempeh on top of each salad.  Season if neccessary and dig in!  Serves 2 hungry yogis.

YUM!!!

YUM!!!

Ok, so i’ve learned that food photography is not quite as easy as I thought… I might not have made Tastespotting this time around, but I promise I’ll get better!! I hope you enjoy this salad and are inspired to get in the kitchen and throw something fresh and healthy together.  Eating well is an essential part of practicing yoga and taking care of yourself.  Next time your deciding what to nosh on, think of your body and feed it something nourishing.

P.S.  One of my amazing clients mentioned me in the style blog, House of Lavande.  Check it out!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hil permalink
    April 8, 2009 9:07 am

    So glad to see another normal human being eats tempeh. Will def. try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

Find online and local Yoga Classes
Online Nursing Programs